Games of La Francophonie, France, Nice, September 7 to 15, 2013

3 images of the 2013 Games of La Francophonie. Artists, the logo of the Games and an athlete.

The VII Games of La Francophonie, held in Nice from September 7 to 15, brought together 3,000 participants, including 2,500 competitors and more than 500 delegates, from 54 State and government members and observers of the Francophonie. Team Canada's 189 participants did very well with 45 medals, earning 2nd place in the medal standings behind host country France. Canada-Quebec and Canada-New Brunswick can also be proud of their performances which netted 12 medals and 6 medals respectively.

View the complete list of medalists.

What are the Games of La Francophonie?

Logo of the Jeux de la Francophonie – France, Nice 2013

A major event for youth, the Games of La Francophonie are held every four years, bringing together almost 3,000 athletes and artists from 77 member and observer states and governments of La Francophonie. The Games of La Francophonie are the only international games that feature both cultural and sport competitions.

The Games of La Francophonie were created in 1987 during the Summit of La Francophonie in Quebec City. The mandate of the Comité international des Jeux de la Francophonie, which reports to the Organisation internationale de la Francophonie, is to oversee the overall organization of the Games in the host country.

Canadian Delegation

Logo of the Jeux de la Francophonie – France, Nice 2013 - Canada - New-Brunswick Logo of the Jeux de la Francophonie – France, Nice 2013 - Canada - Quebec

Since Canada and the governments of Quebec and New Brunswick are members of the  international Francophonie, the Canadian delegation to the Games of La Francophonie consists of three teams: Canada, Canada–Quebec and Canada–New Brunswick.

Jeux de la Francophonie France, Nice, 7 au 15 septembre 2013

3 images des Jeux de la Francophonie 2013. Des artistes, le logo des Jeux et une athlète

Les VIIes Jeux de la Francophonie qui se sont déroulés du 7 au 15 septembre à Nice ont rassemblés 3 000 participants dont 2 500 concurrents et plus de 500 accompagnateurs issus de 54 États et gouvernements membres et observateurs de la Francophonie. L'Équipe Canada avec ses 189 participants a fait belle figure en remportant 45 médailles, ce qui lui a valu la 2e place au tableau des médailles derrière le pays hôte, la France. Le Canada-Québec et le Canada-Nouveau-Brunswick peuvent également se réjouir de leur performance respective avec une récolte de 12 médailles pour les premiers et de 6 pour le Canada-Nouveau-Brunswick.

Consultez la liste complète des médaillés.

En quoi consistent les Jeux de la Francophonie ?

Logo des Jeux de la Francophonie – France, Nice 2013

Grand rendez-vous de la jeunesse, les Jeux de la Francophonie rassemblent tous les quatre ans près de 3 000 athlètes et artistes issus des 77 États et gouvernements membres et observateurs de la Francophonie. Les Jeux de la Francophonie sont les seuls jeux internationaux où des activités sportives et culturelles sont présentées dans un contexte concurrentiel.

Les Jeux de la Francophonie ont été créés en 1987 à Québec, lors du Sommet de la Francophonie. Le Comité international des Jeux de la Francophonie, qui relève de l’Organisation internationale de la Francophonie, a pour mandat d’assurer la supervision générale de l’organisation des Jeux confiée au pays hôte.

La délégation canadienne

Le logo symbolisant Canada Nouveau-Brunswick  pour les Jeux de la francophonie 2013 Le logo symbolisant Canada Québec  pour les Jeux de la francophonie 2013

Le Canada et les gouvernements du Québec et du Nouveau-Brunswick étant membres de la Francophonie internationale, la délégation canadienne lors des Jeux est constituée de trois équipes : le Canada, le Canada–Québec et le Canada–Nouveau-Brunswick.